Brown, Pritchard to select 2014 winners

Jericho Brown


Jericho Brown is the recipient of fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, the Civitella Foundation in Umbria, Italy, and the Krakow Poetry Seminar in Poland.   His poems have appeared or are forthcoming in journals and anthologies including, Callaloo, The Nation, The New Yorker, Oxford American, The New Republic, 100 Best African American Poems, Ascent of Angles, and The Best American Poetry.  His first book, PLEASE, won the American Book Award, and his second book, THE NEW TESTAMENT, is forthcoming from Copper Canyon Press.  Brown is currently an Assistant Professor at Emory University.

Sara Pritchard


Sara Pritchard is the author of the novel-in-stories, Crackpots, which won the Bakeless Prize for Fiction and was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and the linked-story collection, Lately. Her new story collection, Help Wanted: Female, was published by Etruscan Press in July 2013. Her story “Two Studies in Entropy” won the New Letters Alexander Cappon Award for Fiction and the Readers’ Choice Award in 2008, and a Pushcart Prize in 2009.  Sara teaches in the Wilkes University Graduate Creative Writing Program and lives in Morgantown, West Virginia.


The prize is $1,000 and publication.

The deadline is March 15, 2014 (postmarked).

Send contest submissions to:
The Tusculum Review
P.O. Box 5113
60 Shiloh Road
Greeneville, TN 37743.


The entry fee is $15 per manuscript. We accept checks and money orders made payable to The Tusculum Review.

Each manuscript entered should consist of no more than twenty-five pages of fiction or no more than five poems (up to 10 pages total of poetry).  You may enter more than one manuscript and/or more than one genre contest (as long as you include a $15 reading fee with each story or set of poems).

Please send a cover letter with your contest entry.  The cover letter should include the title(s) of your entry, genre of the work—fiction or poetry—your name, postal address, phone number, and e-mail address. Please do NOT include your name or any other identifying information on your short story or poems.

Previously published stories and poems (including web publications) are not permitted for submission.

Entry fees include a one-year subscription to The Tusculum Review (an annual publication) and consideration for publication. We consider all works submitted for publication.

Manuscripts will not be returned; they will, instead, be recycled.

The judges for the 2014 prizes will be Jericho Brown for poetry and Sara Pritchard for fiction. Family, friends, and previous students of the judges, or those with reciprocal professional relationships with the judges, will be disqualified from the contest. Submissions will be screened by the staff of The Tusculum Review, and finalists will be forwarded for judging.

Manuscripts will be numbered, and all names on the manuscripts will be removed before they are read and work is presented to the judges. In the event that judges do not deem any submissions worthy of the prize, The Tusculum Review reserves the right to extend the call for manuscripts or to cancel the award.

All contestants will receive the 2014 issue of The Tusculum Review and a letter listing the winner and finalists. The new issue will be mailed to all contest entrants before June 1, 2014. The winners and finalists will be listed on The Tusculum Review companion website.